Sarah Kay

Share a YouTube link that you visited more than once this year. Explain its significance to you and to your evolution through 2011.

Ok it’s not YouTube, but this is the one video that came to mind when I was trying to think of clips I’d watched more than once. It’s all in the first 5 minutes.

Sarah Kay – If I should have a daughter

Her words caught me – they grabbed my hand when I was exhausted and pulled me up again. I remember watching this when I was unemployed, dejected and feeling downright sorry for myself. She reminded me that we all go through this, and that it can only make us stronger. I see this again now, and I want to share it with others who might be feeling downtrodden. We can all pull through, and we’re never really alone in this beautiful mess. There are few heartbreaks that chocolate can’t fix.

I made my mom watch this video with me too. I’m lucky to have a mother who happens to be one of my greatest heroes – someone who fought hard to make a difference in the world, and to give me everything she could at the same time. Though she may not be a spoken word poet, I know her and I share these same thoughts. Sarah Kay’s words reflect my own mother’s presence in my life. She taught me resilience, compassion and understanding – and above all, the ability to love unconditionally regardless of a world crumbling around your ankles.

Leave a Reply

