Heart/Home/Why I Love BC

In 2011, what was your most unique experience of your home city? Did you venture out further than you usually do? Did you try something new and fall in love?

Early on in 2011 I told myself I would start exploring my home just a little bit more. So many adventures led me to foreign waters and far flung places, but when I heard people talk about their adventures in BC, I couldn’t help but feel wistful. I needed to get out there and explore, to see what this home I love so much really had to offer. How could I have lived here most of my life, and not ventured out to see what was right out my back door?

I still feel that way. The more I explore, the more I realize I’ve barely scratched the surface of all that the Pacific Northwest really had to offer.  Every crag has some new secret, every grove of trees a story to tell and every mountain slope a different line to create. Every experience becomes unique because you are the experiencer.

This year I pushed myself to take everything I do to another level – with the help of a few amazing human beings who strolled into my life in the earlier days of 2011. These people helped me get to the places I wouldn’t have even thought possible only a few months earlier – in fact helped me find the experiences I wouldn’t even have known I was missing. I fell in love with the possibilities for a rush of life only a short drive away and tested what I thought I was capable of, particularly when faced with steep challenges. I used to think that adventure was elsewhere, but I’ve realized lately that it’s within you, and what you bring to every day.  Thank you to everyone who helped me see that. More adventures await in 2012, many of them where you least expect.

Leave a Reply

